The Multinational Multi-Role Tanker Transport Fleet

The Multinational MRTT Fleet (MMF) stands out as a unique example of effective cooperation between NATO and the European Union in delivering critical capabilities. Initiated by the European Defence Agency (EDA) as an initiative to address the long-standing shortfall in European air-to-air refueling capacity in 2012, the MMF has grown to a mature programme, that provides its six participating nations (Belgium, Czech Republic, Germany, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Norway) with air-to-air refueling, air transport and strategic medical evacuation capabilities.

The fleet is owned by NATO and managed by the NATO Support and Procurement Agency (NSPA). The fleet is operated by the Multinational MRTT Unit (MMU), from the Main Operating Base in Eindhoven (The Netherlands) and the Forward Operating Base in Cologne (Germany).

10 MRTT aircraft have been ordered to date. 7 aircraft have been delivered to the Multinational MRTT Unit (MMU) between 2020-2022. Two aircraft (8 and 9) will be delivered in 2024 and aircraft 10 is planned for 2026.

NSPA is the lead organisation for multinational acquisition, support and sustainment to NATO, its 31 Nations and Partners.





"EFFICIENT. EFFECTIVE. RESPONSIVE"

Multinational effort

The MMF is based on a pooling and sharing concept, laid down in a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) where participating nations get access to state-of-the-art aircraft by a multinational cost-sharing arrangement.

The Netherlands
Initiator and lead nation. MoU signed 2015. 2000 FHs

Luxembourg
Initiator. MoU signed 2015. 1200 FHs

Germany
MoU signed 2017. 5500 FHs

Norway
MoU signed 2017. 100 FHs

Belgium
MoU signed 2018. 2100 FHs

Czech Republic
MoU signed 2019. 100 FHs

*The partnership is open to additional interested nations and the contract allows the option of three more aircraft to fulfil the needs of new partners.

Contact

MMU Public Affairs Office

press.mmu@a330mmu.eu +352 661 789 997 Eindhoven Airbase, Flight Forum 1550, 5657EZ Eindhoven, The Netherlands



